Call for nominations: 2006 SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award

August 10th, 2005


Call For Nominations
2006 SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award

ACM SIGART, in collaboration with the International Conference on Autonomous Agents, has instituted an annual award for excellence in research in the area of autonomous agents. Award winners will receive an honorarium and will be invited to give a talk at the annual Autonomous Agents and Multi-Agent Systems (AAMAS) Conference.

This award is specifically intended to recognize researchers whose current research is influencing the field. Candidates will therefore be evaluated based on the quality and significance of their research contributions over the last five years. It is expected that at least some of these contributions should have been reported at one or more Autonomous Agents or AAMAS conferences. Previous winners of the SIGART Autonomous Research Award were Milind Tambe (2005), Makoto Yokoo (2004), Nick Jennings (2003), Katia Sycara (2002), and Tuomas Sandholm (2001).

The award committee is now seeking nominations for next year’s award. Nominations can be
submitted by email to the Awards Committee Chair, Katia Sycara ( The nomination should specify

  • Name of person being nominated;
  • Name and contact information for the person making the nomination;
  • A statement describing the reasons why the nominee should be considered for the

Nominations are requested no later than October 30, 2005.